Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> i'm jrb, new to wow movies, but gaming movie old timer
jrb
post Sep 11 2007, 01:01 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 705

Hello. my name is jrb - or rather, jethro ryan brewin. I've been making game movies since 2002, but mainly focused on first person shooters, such as return to castle wolfenstein, quake3, and half life 2. When i started making movies i also set up one of the first game movie production teams called shaolin productions (shaolinproductions.org) which was focused on knowledge sharing, and work in progress feedback, rather than collaborative creations.

I'm 32, work in IT, and am based in London, England.

I got in to game movie production purely because i felt a lot of the movies being made for the games i loved and played were not so good - or rather not to my personal liking. I felt the movies i watched didn't offer the kind of creativity, or technical aspects that i thought could be employed in movies. Back then, things were very different from now.

some of the movies that i have made have done quite well with the community. Movies such as 4k.Revolution (a rtcw movie for professional gaming clan 4kings), and Tricking iT2 (for quake3 trick jump clan Infinite Trajectory) have gone on to win golden llama awards (a yearly oscar like award ceremony for gaming movies and machinima). These date back from 2004 / 2005, so for the past few years i've been wallowing in the pit of laziness that is playing wow, and of course, real life. ;)

I see that a lot of interesting movies for WoW have been coming out of the past couple of years, and these have definately peaked my interest in the medium for a couple of reasons.
a) frag or trick movies are not the same as machinima, although i have tried to include some rudamentary story telling techniques, and a lot of the technical and creative processes are the same - it would still be cool to do a full on machinma project